I Finally Caught a Cold

I know that based on the title it sounds as though I am happy about this. In a way, I am.

Everyone around me for the last three weeks has been sick.
“There is something going around,” they would say.
I have heard that phrase at least four times a week. And each week that I hear someone say that I want it to be true. I want to get sick. And why? So I can do nothing, which is exactly what I have been doing since I got home from work today. My sinuses started to throb relentlessly. My nose and eyes leaked like the hole in my ceiling in a New England rainstorm.

But I went to work, at 7 am.

As I drove to work I noticed the ease in my right hip. When I reached under my ass, I realized I was sans wallet. I had skipped breakfast, had no time to stop and purchase medicine and even if I wanted to, I couldn’t purchase anything.
After an eight hour day, most of the time blowing my nose raw, I was free . I got home, ate leftovers, and passed out on the couch all within fifteen minutes of getting into my apartment.

Now there is a Two and a Half Men marathon on FX. I don’t like the show, but I got what I asked for. A couch, a night in, and that cold people kept telling me was going around.

But there is something more to all of this. Sometimes what we require is nothing. Sometimes the best thing to do is not shower, to watch TV, or read, all day. On days like this you will say, thank God for Twitter. Like our laptops, our cellphones, and various other battery operated items (I didn’t take it there, you did), we all must recharge. Like C3PO sometimes we just need to shutdown for a while.

As sick as I am, I have never felt better.

Leave a Reply

