Ray Bradbury

1920 – 2012

I neglected to write about the passing of Ray Bradbury on my site when he passed earlier this week at 91.

Mr. Bradury’s writing, and approach to writing, has been something that stuck with me since I was young. I came, as a young boy and teenager, to writing through a series of genres and authors. Ray Brabury and sciencefiction was at the top of that list. I was deeply moved by his piece in the sci-fi issue of The New Yorker as an adult and someone who has turned to writing as a profession; making a dream become – suddenly – very real. I believe, had I known Mr. Bradbury, he would be proud of the steps I made and continue to make with my writing (both fiction and nonfiction).

His belief in the creative mind, how it operates and how it moves, will be greatly missed by many throughout the world. And sharply by me.

Rest in peace amongst the stars, Mr. Bradbury.

Leave a Reply

